Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Poetry Commons

Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Articles 31 - 60 of 194

Full-Text Articles in Poetry

Floating, Rachel A. Croskrey Apr 2016

Floating, Rachel A. Croskrey

Cedarville Review

It's not sinking, it's not flying, it's just there.


Home, Madison V. Hart Apr 2016

Home, Madison V. Hart

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Naturally, Dominique R. Jackson Apr 2016

Naturally, Dominique R. Jackson

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Two Girls In The Rain, Brian Campbell Apr 2016

Two Girls In The Rain, Brian Campbell

Cedarville Review

"Two Girls in the Rain" contrasts how two different people react to the same trials and circumstances through the use of symbolism and parallelism.


Hiraeth, Brian Campbell Apr 2016

Hiraeth, Brian Campbell

Cedarville Review

In 2002, my family was evacuated out of Côte d’Ivoire, West Africa, due to a civil war. I was five years old at the time, and my older sister was in boarding school. Two years later, my family returned to Côte d’Ivoire, only to be evacuated again after the nearby town was bombed. Despite only living in Côte d’Ivoire for four years of my life, the country and both evacuations have left a tremendous mark on my life. Through my poem “Hiraeth,” I explore nostalgia and the uncontrollable fleeting of time. According to Merriam Webster, “hiraeth” is ...


The Firebird, Ex Post Facto, Sam Armstrong May 2014

The Firebird, Ex Post Facto, Sam Armstrong

Cedarville Review

A reimagining of the classic firebird myth.


Factory, Jesse A. Silk May 2014

Factory, Jesse A. Silk

Cedarville Review

An imagist poem of a factory scene that describes both the inside of the factory and a view of it in the evening sky from the highway.


What My Hands Hold Now, Eli Pyles May 2014

What My Hands Hold Now, Eli Pyles

Cedarville Review

"What My Hands Hold Now" symbolizes the changing of seasons, written at a time when my life was in transition.


Teach A Little Boy Music, Jesse A. Silk May 2014

Teach A Little Boy Music, Jesse A. Silk

Cedarville Review

This poem describes the settings of a child's life, predominately his playing a piano, and considers purity and innocence and the desperation to hold onto them amidst the impending complexity and hardship of experience.


Night Watch, Eli Pyles May 2014

Night Watch, Eli Pyles

Cedarville Review

"Night Watch" is an attempt to get inside the brain and heart of a typical dog. The poem does not speak to any known reality but rather to my perceptions of dogs in southern, rundown neighborhoods.


We Judge The Soil, Sam Armstrong May 2014

We Judge The Soil, Sam Armstrong

Cedarville Review

A poem exploring soil judging and familial life in an agrarian community.


Dirt, Elise M. Parsons May 2014

Dirt, Elise M. Parsons

Cedarville Review

Poetry


Karen's House, Sarah Mcellhenney Jan 2011

Karen's House, Sarah Mcellhenney

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


At The Bottom: For Bryony, Joel Dulin Jan 2011

At The Bottom: For Bryony, Joel Dulin

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Brim, Alexa Winik Jan 2011

Brim, Alexa Winik

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Elegy On An Anvil: For Edward F. Brewer, Kathryn Brewer Jan 2011

Elegy On An Anvil: For Edward F. Brewer, Kathryn Brewer

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Fire Escape, Alexa Winik Jan 2011

Fire Escape, Alexa Winik

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Impression Of Self In Water, Kathryn Brewer Jan 2011

Impression Of Self In Water, Kathryn Brewer

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Eleanor, Alexa Winik Jan 2011

Eleanor, Alexa Winik

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


How To Grow A Poem, Hannah Bryan Jan 2011

How To Grow A Poem, Hannah Bryan

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


The Photograph, Marie Campbell Jan 2011

The Photograph, Marie Campbell

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Taking Notes Again, Marie Campbell Jan 2011

Taking Notes Again, Marie Campbell

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Ode To Juvenalia, Anthony Delarosa Jan 2010

Ode To Juvenalia, Anthony Delarosa

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Tangent Blade Pitch Control Unit, Megan Welborn Jan 2010

Tangent Blade Pitch Control Unit, Megan Welborn

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Memento Mori And I, Anthony Delarosa Jan 2010

Memento Mori And I, Anthony Delarosa

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Intro To Face, Anthony Delarosa Jan 2010

Intro To Face, Anthony Delarosa

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Sinking, Amanda Roberts Jan 2010

Sinking, Amanda Roberts

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Poem In Seven Parts, Zach Sanderson Jan 2010

Poem In Seven Parts, Zach Sanderson

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Doubtlessly Uncertain, Kkimberly Bowen Jan 2010

Doubtlessly Uncertain, Kkimberly Bowen

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Bantu Poetry, Jessica Johnson Jan 2010

Bantu Poetry, Jessica Johnson

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.