Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Creative Writing Commons

Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Articles 1 - 4 of 4

Full-Text Articles in Creative Writing

The Zodiac Army., Keith Charles Marks Dec 2016

The Zodiac Army., Keith Charles Marks

Electronic Theses and Dissertations

This thesis is the beginning of a book title The Zodiac Army. The book is the first in a trilogy and follows three different characters. The first, Ash, is a teenage boy who discovers he is a powerful magician who, along with another magician, can control the elements of nature. The two form a Twin pairing and will fight for each other and for the safety of the kingdom. Alora, the second character, is a young and faithful priestess in the Temple. Her faith, in both the gods and those in charge of the Temple, could bring the entire system ...


"Clarity" And "The Romantic Marvin Milkweed"., Adam Christopher Lippert May 2016

"Clarity" And "The Romantic Marvin Milkweed"., Adam Christopher Lippert

Electronic Theses and Dissertations

Algernon Bay is the owner of a small art gallery on Chicago’s north side. And “Clarity” begins the day after Alge has acquired a very unique and special painting. It is the day of his inaugural ritual, which he hopes can recalibrate his life. Approximately a year ago, his wife Esmeralda gave birth to a stillborn infant, and their marriage has slowly deteriorated since. Now it is on the cusp of completely collapsing. Alge and Esmeralda are finally desperate, and they take unthinkable measures to attain the feeling of love once more. “The Romantic Marvin Milkweed” is a story ...


Master Buddha & The Jolly Golly Fun Time Gang., Todd Edward Evans May 2016

Master Buddha & The Jolly Golly Fun Time Gang., Todd Edward Evans

Electronic Theses and Dissertations

This thesis is the first two chapters of a novel. The novel parodies the capitalist and consumerist United States of the 21st Century in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, Kurt Vonnegut, and Donald Barthelme.


This Sleep Of Reason., Brit Thompson May 2016

This Sleep Of Reason., Brit Thompson

Electronic Theses and Dissertations

This creative thesis encompasses two features: 1) a critical component that contextualizes and supports the second component, 2) a short Southern Gothic novella. Critical analyses of Flannery O’Connor’s fiction and discourse about the genre illustrate where inspiration was drawn, and how the project’s creative component contributes to this genre. The project explores anxieties of displacement, isolation, and a stuck-in-the-past-temporality, as shown through the vessel of characters’ houses. The novella is decentralized in form and point-of-view—fragmentary excerpts of technological communications are utilized to illustrate how the protagonist’s problems are literally always on hand. The project argues ...