Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Creative Writing Commons

Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Theses/Dissertations

Book and Paper

Institution
Keyword
Publication Year
Publication
File Type

Articles 1 - 15 of 15

Full-Text Articles in Creative Writing

The Forest Seer's Almanac: Seasonal Cycles And The Artist-Naturalist Archetype, Leigha Meredith Jan 2019

The Forest Seer's Almanac: Seasonal Cycles And The Artist-Naturalist Archetype, Leigha Meredith

Honors Theses at the University of Iowa

The Forest Seer’s Almanac is a handcrafted collaboration of book-arts and the environmental sciences. Documenting my discoveries studying ecology and geology in the field, this book pays homage to the writings and sketches of early naturalists and the descriptive sciences. Watercolor illustrations and a curation of eco-poetry accompany essays tied to my experiences through the changing seasons. Each chapter relates empirical scientific research to archetypal symbols in nature while calling on environmental themes such as ecological succession, wildlife monitoring, and climate change. By bridging the arts, sciences, and other modes of processing the world, I aim to bridge a ...


Transit, Christopher Janke Oct 2018

Transit, Christopher Janke

Masters Theses

This written thesis, transit, accompanies an exhibition by the same name and serves to contextualize the exhibit. The written portion begins with an inquiry into the nature of the contextualization itself, questioning the nature of the relationship between the written thesis, the exhibit, and the University which explicitly requires and connects the two, especially the ways that the written word as granted authority through an institution of higher education might undermine the exhibit’s intent to provoke thought into other forms of knowledge and other avenues of legitimacy than those presented by this institution.

The thesis discusses the philosophic question ...


Sonder: Exploration Of The Relationship Between Digital Media And Graphic Design Through The Creation Of Print And Digital Publications, Elisa Leigh Vandergriff May 2018

Sonder: Exploration Of The Relationship Between Digital Media And Graphic Design Through The Creation Of Print And Digital Publications, Elisa Leigh Vandergriff

Undergraduate Honors Theses

Sonder is an exploration of the relationship between digital media and graphic design through the creation of print and digital publications. At it’s very foundation, Sonder is a travel magazine with both a physical print publication and a digital publication designed for a tablet. It includes photography, articles, poetry, and travel tips. The print and the digital versions contain the same content, but explore different methods of presentation.


Experience Bobo Experience, Sara Smith May 2018

Experience Bobo Experience, Sara Smith

Capstone Projects and Master's Theses

Experience Bobo Experience -by Sara Marie Smith (Artist Statements and Images of work)

Spring 2018-CSUMB Undergraduate Capstone Project/ Visual Public Arts Department

My Senior Capstone is about using inspirational wisdom from acknowledged sources to address the quandaries of our human experiences. I have chosen a cognitive clown, named Bobo, to investigate Henry David Thoreau, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Watts. Bobo, my character, goes on a journey of learning. Bobo is a line drawing, rendered in marker, with a circular head, two dot eyes, three puffs of hair with a clown smile and clown clothing. Experience Bobo Experience speaks to viewers ...


Good Game, Greyory Blake Jan 2018

Good Game, Greyory Blake

Theses and Dissertations

This thesis and its corresponding art installation, Lessons from Ziggy, attempts to deconstruct the variables prevalent within several complex systems, analyze their transformations, and propose a methodology for reasserting the soap box within the display pedestal. In this text, there are several key and specific examples of the transformation of various signifiers (i.e. media-bred fear’s transformation into a political tactic of surveillance, contemporary freneticism’s transformation into complacency, and community’s transformation into nationalism as a state weapon). In this essay, all of these concepts are contextualized within the exponential growth of new technologies. That is to say ...


La Vida Y Andanzas De Un Libro Antiguo En Nueva España Y La Península Ibérica. Cultura Escrita En La Obra Hierofánica Del Doctor Don Alonso Alberto De Velasco, Raul Manuel Lopez Bajonero Jun 2017

La Vida Y Andanzas De Un Libro Antiguo En Nueva España Y La Península Ibérica. Cultura Escrita En La Obra Hierofánica Del Doctor Don Alonso Alberto De Velasco, Raul Manuel Lopez Bajonero

Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Repository

In 1688 a legal text, Renovación, was printed in Mexico City, the capital of the Viceroyalty of New Spain, that explains a twelve year trial that focuses on determining if a 16th century sculpture miraculously renewed itself. The final decision came from the Archbishop of Mexico City. A year after the book’s publication, the sculpture was recognized as miraculous. In 1699, ten years after this event, the author of Renovación wrote another book that narrates the same sculpture's history, Exaltación, but addressed a wider audience, and from a religious and pious perspective. The Exaltación was republished a ...


Phobophobia: A Study In Fear, Rebecca C. Josephson May 2017

Phobophobia: A Study In Fear, Rebecca C. Josephson

Senior Honors Projects, 2010-2019

This thesis is the poetic culmination of a creative writing study in fear. Though here it only consists of the written word, the thesis was the content of an artists book of the same study.


Master Buddha & The Jolly Golly Fun Time Gang., Todd Edward Evans May 2016

Master Buddha & The Jolly Golly Fun Time Gang., Todd Edward Evans

Electronic Theses and Dissertations

This thesis is the first two chapters of a novel. The novel parodies the capitalist and consumerist United States of the 21st Century in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, Kurt Vonnegut, and Donald Barthelme.


The Call Of The Undertow, Rebekah Bradford Jan 2016

The Call Of The Undertow, Rebekah Bradford

Williams Honors College, Honors Research Projects

Artist Statement

Prior to becoming a graphic design student, I was very interested in illustration. I wanted an opportunity to hone my illustration skills, focus on one consistent style of illustration, consistently draw the same characters, and practice writing. Creating a children’s book gave me the opportunity to do all of those things. And, after several semesters of work, it’s great to finally see The Call of the Undertow completed! I hope that you enjoy reading this story and looking at the images because I enjoyed creating it.


Nostos: On Recollecting Loss And The Physical Manifestation Of Loss, Stephanie M. Huang Jan 2016

Nostos: On Recollecting Loss And The Physical Manifestation Of Loss, Stephanie M. Huang

Scripps Senior Theses

This paper examines nostalgia in photo-poetry book Nostos, and nostalgia’s existence as a theoretical global condition arising from displacement, looking at nostalgia specifically not as a yearning for home, but a yearning for a lost sense of feeling at home. It traces the lineage of image-text hybrid art practices and examines the significance of conveying meaning through both synergistically. It studies the psychoanalytic process of transforming loss into object, or absence into presence, ultimately using the object as a lens to view oneself and the way in which nostalgia manifests itself.


Creative Collaboration On A Creativity Book, Jane Harvey Aug 2015

Creative Collaboration On A Creativity Book, Jane Harvey

Creative Studies Graduate Student Master's Projects

Based on existing roles as writer and designer, two Master’s students partnered on one project. This project was dually about the creative product and creative process. The final product result is a book on creativity, but much of the project learning was about collaboration during the creative process itself. The project included the creation of written and visual content and a production-ready book layout on the subject of creativity. This paper describes the process followed to create a fast reading, jargon-free book with a special academic end section.


The Misconception Of Knowing, The Invention Of Time; Curiosities & Introspections Of Vernacular Photography, Patricia D. Drummond May 2015

The Misconception Of Knowing, The Invention Of Time; Curiosities & Introspections Of Vernacular Photography, Patricia D. Drummond

Masters Theses, 2010-2019

The Misconception of Knowing, the Invention of Time; Curiosities & Introspections of Vernacular Photography is a body of work that combines photography, artist books, and alternative processes in a series of pieces that explore the synergy between the act of creating vernacular or common photography, the photograph in its many forms, and the interaction with the photographic image at all the stages of its existence. It also exists in conjunction with this written monograph, which supports and gives insight into the work. Through the use of poems, sketchbook musings, the history of photography, critical theory and social norms within photography, I ...


The Lost Row, Roman Buetel Dec 2014

The Lost Row, Roman Buetel

Honors Projects

Set in 2032, The Lost Row chronicles the pre-dystopian city of Fostoria, where three citizens have taken it upon themselves to combat crime.


The Hat Lady Equation, Lauren Capone May 2014

The Hat Lady Equation, Lauren Capone

University of New Orleans Theses and Dissertations

The Hat Lady Equation is a collection of poems by Lauren Capone. As influences she cites Elizabeth Bishop, John Berryman, among the exquisite minutiae of day-to-day living. The poems explore works of visual art by Alberto Giacometti, James Taylor Bonds, Chris Dennis, Blaine Capone (her brother), and creatures of the natural world including fish, the rhinoceros, a lettered olive shell. . . . Lauren shows a preoccupation with disassembling through the poems whether it's her identity, art, or happenings of everyday life.


S.M.I.L.E. (Success Means Initiating Life Everyday), Charisma C. Dupree May 2013

S.M.I.L.E. (Success Means Initiating Life Everyday), Charisma C. Dupree

Creative Studies Graduate Student Master's Projects

Abstract:

Motivation exists as an important aspect of our lives. Motivation comes in two main forms, intrinsic and extrinsic motivation. No matter the type motivation employed, at some point we all experience motivation to help achieve our goals and in order to reach success in any capacity. The use of Creative Problem Solving (CPS) can also help in the process of motivation and succeeding. When the going gets tough, it is imperative to SMILE – Success Means Initiating Life Everyday.