Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Creative Writing Commons

Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Articles 1 - 30 of 58

Full-Text Articles in Creative Writing

Sermon Soup, Abigail C. Wisser Apr 2019

Sermon Soup, Abigail C. Wisser

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Second Birth Into Paradox, Abigail C. Wisser Apr 2019

Second Birth Into Paradox, Abigail C. Wisser

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Empty Manicotti Shells, Julia N. Schultz Apr 2019

Empty Manicotti Shells, Julia N. Schultz

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Patience, Emma M. Foster Apr 2019

Patience, Emma M. Foster

Cedarville Review

A short piece of creative nonfiction about my grandma teaching me how to play solitaire in the wake of Hurricane Irma.


Grounded, Abigail Shaffer Apr 2019

Grounded, Abigail Shaffer

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


A Mother's Countenance, Adrienne M. Krater Apr 2018

A Mother's Countenance, Adrienne M. Krater

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Love And Adventure: A Calvin And Hobbes Story, Nathan Robertson Apr 2018

Love And Adventure: A Calvin And Hobbes Story, Nathan Robertson

Cedarville Review

When your brother is mentally and physically disabled, it's sometimes hard to know how to love him well. When it's your twin brother you don't really have much time to adjust, you just have to learn as you go. This essay tells the story of one of my greatest lessons in being a better brother, and surprising enough, the answer was found in perhaps the greatest gift I've ever received: my first copy of Calvin and Hobbes.


A Christian Response To Art And Literature: A Very Short Guide To Images And Texts, Andrew Graff Apr 2018

A Christian Response To Art And Literature: A Very Short Guide To Images And Texts, Andrew Graff

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Hope Is The Color Orange, Angel S. Grubbs Apr 2018

Hope Is The Color Orange, Angel S. Grubbs

Cedarville Review

This is a nonfiction short I wrote as part of a collection of shorts concerning my home. This piece specifically addresses how to fix something that doesn't seem blatantly broken, but something is definitely wrong. I play with concepts of a the color orange as hope but come to realize orange can mean more than just hope, and life can be as complex as colors.


What Is Lost, Brianna Martinez Apr 2018

What Is Lost, Brianna Martinez

Cedarville Review

My thoughts on being lost and losing.


When I Try, It Takes Me Several Times Before My Hands Are Tight Enough, Sharon R. Tapia Apr 2017

When I Try, It Takes Me Several Times Before My Hands Are Tight Enough, Sharon R. Tapia

Cedarville Review

In this piece of creative nonfiction I describe a piece of my family. "When I Try, It Takes Me Several Times Before My Hands Are Tight Enough" is about my dad teaching me to whistle through my hands.


On My Acquisition Of Jade Elephants, Adrienne M. Krater Apr 2017

On My Acquisition Of Jade Elephants, Adrienne M. Krater

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Phone Home, Alyssa A. Cody Apr 2017

Phone Home, Alyssa A. Cody

Cedarville Review

This picture brings it back to a simpler time where around the corner there would be a phone booth.


Editors' Foreword - A Christian Response To Art And Literature: A Very Short Guide To Images And Texts Apr 2017

Editors' Foreword - A Christian Response To Art And Literature: A Very Short Guide To Images And Texts

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Sloppy Joes And Carebears, Nathan Elliot Harris Apr 2017

Sloppy Joes And Carebears, Nathan Elliot Harris

Cedarville Review

A comedic recounting of a memory emblazoning the idea of shame into a young boy's mind.


Lever-Action, Ruth E. Towne Apr 2016

Lever-Action, Ruth E. Towne

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Tap, Alexis F. Ancona Apr 2016

Tap, Alexis F. Ancona

Cedarville Review

An exploration of water imagery in my formative years: framed by my experience getting a spinal tap.


Making Mountains Out Of Snow Mounds, Sharon R. Tapia Apr 2016

Making Mountains Out Of Snow Mounds, Sharon R. Tapia

Cedarville Review

Short about my little sister, snow, and the fragile nature of heroes.


3728: For John And Sheri Hart, David Grandouiller Apr 2016

3728: For John And Sheri Hart, David Grandouiller

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


The Way I Walk, Abby Cline May 2014

The Way I Walk, Abby Cline

Cedarville Review

This essay explores the idiosyncratic nature of my personal walk. From horseback riding lessons to not-so-modest bikinis, the influences on my walk are many and varied. What's more interesting, though, is how deeply the comments and critiques from my friends impact me. I'm still realizing just how sensitive I am about the way I walk.


Twenty-Years-Old, Lindsay M. Mailloux May 2014

Twenty-Years-Old, Lindsay M. Mailloux

Cedarville Review

This piece is about being twenty-years-old. Its about choices, reality, and thinking about the future.


"Set Controls For The Heart Of The Sun", Jesse A. Silk May 2014

"Set Controls For The Heart Of The Sun", Jesse A. Silk

Cedarville Review

The nonfiction short "Set Controls for the Heart of the Sun" calls upon the inspiration of a Pink Floyd song to recall an out-of-body experience from my childhood.


On Scars, Kari S. Morris May 2014

On Scars, Kari S. Morris

Cedarville Review

"On Scars" is a personal essay written about the varying perspectives of scars and my personal fascination with them. I was inspired by my own body's scars and how people typically react to seeing them. I want readers to develop a deeper understanding about scars as a bodily phenomenon as well as an emotional representation beyond the stereotypes impressed by Western culture.


On Apologizing, Camila Sray Jan 2011

On Apologizing, Camila Sray

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


M’Aider {Help Me!}, Sarah Morse Jan 2011

M’Aider {Help Me!}, Sarah Morse

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


On Orphans And Semi-Orphans, Kristin Troyer Jan 2011

On Orphans And Semi-Orphans, Kristin Troyer

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Alpha Male, Lauren Moore Jan 2011

Alpha Male, Lauren Moore

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Use Your Words, Megan Spring Jan 2011

Use Your Words, Megan Spring

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Plunder, Hannah Bryan Jan 2010

Plunder, Hannah Bryan

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Cheerios, Jillian Pierce Jan 2010

Cheerios, Jillian Pierce

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.